Walawalkar keen to bridge gap in drivers’ championship

Ameya Walwalkar at practice on the MMS Track in Sriperumbudur

A determined Ameya Walawalkar will resume his bid to rise to the top of the Formula LGB Swift drivers’ championship when the third round of the JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship 2011 gets underway at the MMSC track in Sriperumbudur near here on Saturday.

Walawalkar made up for two disastrous races in the inaugural round in June with spectacular victories last month but his Mars Racing team-mate, Chennai’s R Deepak will be keen to retain his championship lead with consistent performances in the two races this weekend.

“I got taken out in both races in June and there was so little I could do about that but I am glad I notched up two wins the last time. I am looking for consistency and I am sure that when we reach the halfway stage in the championship, I will have risen in the table,” Walawalkar said after practice on a cloudy day today.

In the Indian Touring Cars class, the manner in which former National Formula 3 champion N Leelakrishnan rose from 24th in the grid to finish eighth in the last race has not gone unnoticed and TR Radha Selvarajan, V Rajvirdhan and B Vijayakumar will be looking to consolidate their places at the top of the table.

The defending champion, Siddharth Kishore (Performance Racing), exuded confidence that his car is back to top shape after four races when he did not have a single podium finish. V Rajvirdhan (Prime Racing) was a concerned man after he had to find a spare engine for this weekend, having blown two engines in practice.

Bala Vijay (Car No 46) and Diljith Shaji have had their own contests in front of the Indian Junior Touring Cars class in the JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship 2011

Diljith T Shaji (LCT Sigaram Sports) emerged a surprise leader in the Indian Junior Touring Cars class when B Bala Vijay (MotoRev India) was disqualified for using a technically illegal component in the second round in Coimbatore last month. With his driving skills, Bala Vijay will be eager to roar back in contention.

In the Polo R Cup series being run concurrently with the National Championship, with his aggressive skills Chennai’s Vishnu Prasad has emerged the man to beat with three wins from four starts this season but there is a bunch of four drivers from western India jostling for positions behind the runaway leader.

Mihir Dharkar (Mumbai), Oshan Kothadiya (Pune), Rahil Noorani (Mumbai) and Avdumber Hegde (Goa) have all shown themselves to be competitive while Ajay Kini (Chennai) has shown that he is eager to make up for having missed the first round in June.