Karthik Krishna posts maiden win

Karthik Krishna (No. 30) leads the pack while S Narendran defends his second position against Ameya Walawalkar (Car No. 1)

Karthik Krishna made the most of the magnificent support by TVS Girling team-mate S Narendran to win the Formula LGB Swift race at the JK Tyre FMSCI National Racing Championship at the Madras Motor Sports track in Sriperumbudur near here today.

TR Radha Selvarajan (Rad Racing) claimed his third victory in six starts this season in the Indian Touring Cars race, riding on some luck when leader V Rajvirdhan (Prime Racing) went out with a blown engine after three laps. Radha Selvarajan’s win came after three races and put him back in the lead in the drivers’ championship with 111 points.

With Narendran doggedly defending Ameya Walwalkar (Mars Racing) for a little over six laps before the latter spun out of the race with a broken axle, Krishna needed to look into the rearview mirrors only to keep track of the keen battle behind him. He secured a start-to-finish win that lifted him to the second spot in the drivers’ table behind R Deepak (Mars Racing).

 “It is a fantastic feeling to win my first race. I have no words to express my delight but a 1-2-3 for TVS Girling makes it so much more special,” Krishna said, referring to A Sandeep Kumar’s dramatic elevation to third place after having started the final lap in fifth place on a day when overnight rain added to the drivers’ challenge on the track, especially in the morning.

Radha Selvarajan whose car spun and ended up in a rain-water well off the track on Saturday, said he knew he had to win to stay ahead in the championship at the half-way stage. “I lost crucial points yesterday but I am glad I was able to take full points today,” he said. “I am also happy my team-mate N Leelakrishnan finished second again and is now sixth in the standings.”

Leelakrishnan said his return to competitive motor sport after nine seasons has been dogged by lack of practice because of busted engines. “Hopefully, by next month, I will have got that part of my act right and make a run for the championship,” he said, having caught the eye of the spectators and connoisseurs alike.

B Bala Vijay (MotoRev India) completed another double victory in the Indian Junior Touring class today to erase memories of being disqualified in the second round last month. With the pole sitter Feroz Khan (Performance Racing) spinning early in the race, Bala Vijay pursued Diljit Shaji (LCT Sigaram Sports) for three laps before finding his way past him. “It really does not matter where you start the race so long as you win it,” Bala Vijay said, rising to the second place in the standings. Diljith enjoys a 22 point advantage in the championship.

Goa’s Avdumber Hede became a first time winner in the Polo R Cup when he claimed victory in the second race after championship leader Vishnu Prasad (Chennai) won the morning race but was excluded by the stewards after eight laps in the race.

Ace rallyist Nawaz Sandhu beat back the challenge of Denmark’s Maiken Rasmussen and Malaysia’s Natasha Seatter to win the Polo R Cup women’s race.