India’s medalists at the Asian Games

Asian Games 2010 Guangzhou

So how many Indians won the 64 medals at the Asian Games in Guangzhou, China from November 12 to 27, 2010 and made all of India proud of their achievement? A stunning 134 athletes returned home from China with at least a medal to show for their hard work over the past few years, their hunger and determination to excel in the sport of their choice.

The roll of honour includes 40 athletes who won the 14 gold, 36 had a hand in winning the 17 silver medal and 67 who won the 33 bronze medals. India won 14 gold medals but these embrace two from kabaddi squads in which there were 12 players each and the women’s 1600m relay squad of six, including two who did not run the final but were entered as part of the team.

Similarly, the list of silver medal winners include the men’s snooker team, men’s golf team, rowing four and eight teams, the open match racing sailing crew, men’s air rifle team, women’s air pistol team and the mixed doubles tennis pair.

The bronze medal winners included the archery men and women’s teams, the men’s chess team, the men’s hockey team, the roller skating pair, the men’s trap and double trap teams, the men and women’s squash teams and the men’s tennis team.

With a bit more luck and perseverance, this list of medallists would have been longer.

Sport Athlete Event
Gold medals
Athletics AC Ashwini Women’s 400m hurdles & 4 x 400m relay
Sudha Singh Women’s 3000m steeplechase
Preeja Sreedharan Women’s 10,000m
Joseph Abrabam Men’s 400m hurdles
Mandeep Kaur Women’s 4 x 400m relay
Manjeet Kaur Women’s 4 x 400m relay
Sini Joseph Women’s 4 x 400m relay
Chitra Soman Women’s 4 x 400m relay
Jauna Murmu Women’s 4 x 400m relay
Billiards Sport Pankaj Advani Billiards
Boxing Vikas Krishan Men’s 60kg class
Vijender Singh Men’s 75kg class
Kabaddi Manjeet Chillar Men’s team
Navneet Gautam Men’s team
Nitin Ghule Men’s team
Jasmer Men’s team
Kaptan Men’s team
Anup Kumar Men’s team
Rakesh Kumar Men’s team
Sonu Narwal Men’s team
Samarjeet Men’s team
Jagdeep Singh Men’s team
Jasmer Singh Men’s team
S Jeeva Kumar Men’s team
Deepika Joseph Women’s team
Sanahanbi Devi Women’s team
Kavita Women’s team
Smita Kumari Women’s team
Mamatha Women’s team
Manisha Women’s team
Kalyani Marella Women’s team
Snehal Salunkhe Women’s team
Kavitha Selvaraj Women’s team
Pooja Sharma Women’s team
Bai Tejaswini Women’s team
Sharmi Ulahannan Women’s team
Rowing Bajrang Lal Takhar Men’s single sculls
Shooting Ronjan Sodhi Men’s double trap
Tennis Somdev Devvarman Men’s singles and men’s doubles
Sanam K Singh Men’s doubles
Silver medals
Archery Tarundeep Rai Men’s individual
Athletics Preeja Sreedharan Women’s 5000m
Kavita Raut Women’s 10,000m
Billiards sports Brijesh Damani Men’s snooker team
Aditya Mehta Men’s snooker team
Yasin Merchant Men’s snooker team
Boxing KV Santhosh Men’s 64kg class
Dinesh Kumar Men’s 81kg class
Manpreet Singh Men’s 91kg class
Golf Abhijit Chada Men’s team
Abhinav Lohan Men’s team
Rahul Bajaj Men’s team
Rashid Khan Men’s team
Rowing Saji Thomas Men’s four and men’s eight
Jenil Krishnan Men’s four and men’s eight
Anil Kumar Men’s four and men’s eight
Ranjit Singh Men’s four and men’s eight
Lokesh Kumar Men’s lightweight four and men’s eight
Satish Joshi Men’s lightweight four and men’s eight
Rajesh Yadav Men’s lightweight four and men’s eight
Manjeet Singh Men’s lightweight four and men’s eight
Girraj Singh Men’s eight
Sailing Farokh Tarapore Open Match racing
Balraj Open Match Racing
Atool Singh Open Match Racing
Shekhar Yadav Open Match Racing
Trunal Helegaonkar Open Match Racing
Shooting Gagan Narang Men’s 10m air rifle & men’s 10m air rifle team
Abhinav Bindra Men’s 10m air rifle team
Sanjeev Rajput Men’s 10m air rifle team
Sonia Rai Women’s 10m air pistol team
Heena Sidhu Women’s 10m air pistol team
Annu Raj Singh Women’s 10m air pistol team
Tennis Sania Mirza Mixed doubles
Vishnu Vardhan Mixed doubles
Wushu Sandhya Rani Devi Women’s Sanshou 60kg
Bronze medals
Archery Rahul Banerjee Men’s team
Tarundeep Rai Men’s team
Jayanta Talukdar Men’s team
Deepika Kumari Women’s team
Dola Banerjee Women’s team
Rimil Buriuly Women’s team
Artistic gymnastics Ashish Kumar Men’s floor exercise
Athletics Tintu Luka Women’s 800m
Kavita Raut Women’s 5000m
Krishna Poonia Women’s discus
GG Pramila Heptathlon
Billiards sports Aditya Mehta Men’s snooker
Alok Kumar Men’s 8-ball pool
Boxing MC Mary Kom Women’s 51kg class
Suranjoy Singh Men’s 52kg class
Kavita Goyal Women’s 75kg class
Paramjeet Samota Over 91kg class
Chess D Harika Women’s individual
P Harikrishna Men’s team
K Sasikaran Men’s team
Surya Shekhar Ganguly Men’s team
GN Gopal Men’s team
B Adhiban Men’s team
Hockey Bharat Chetri Men’s team
Bharat Chikara Men’s team
Danish Mujtaba Men’s team
Sandeep Singh Men’s team
Arjun Halappa Men’s team
Prabodh Tirkey Men’s team
Dhananjay Mahadik Men’s team
Sardar Singh Men’s team
Dharamvir Singh Men’s team
Pal Ravi Men’s team
Sarvanjit Singh Men’s team
Shivendra Singh Men’s team
Gurbaj Singh Men’s team
Tushak Khandekar Men’s team
Rajpal Singh Men’s team
Vikram Pillay Men’s team
Roller sports Anup Kumar Yama Men’s singles free & Pairs skating
Avani Panchal Pairs skating
Rowing Pratima Puhana Women’s pair
Shooting Vijay Kumar Men’s 10m air pistol & 25m centrefire pistol
Manavjit Sandhu Men’s trap team
Zoravar Sandhu Men’s trap team
Mansher Singh Men’s trap team
Vikram Bhatnagar Men’s double trap team
Asher Noria Men’s double trap team
Ronjan Sodhi Men’s double trap team
Squash Sourav Ghoshal Men’s individual and men’s team
Harinder Sandhu Men’s team
Sandeep Jangra Men’s team
Siddharth Suchde Men’s team
Anaka Alankamony Women’s team
Anwesha Vangala Women’s team
Dipika Pallikal Women’s team
Joshna Chinappa Women’s team
Swimming Virdhawal Khare Men’s 50m butterfly
Tennis Sania Mirza Women’s singles
Somdev Devvarman Men’s team
Karan Rastogi Men’s team
Sanam K Singh Men’s team
Vishnu Vardhan Men’s team
Wrestling Ravinder Singh Men’s Greco-roman 60kg class
Sunil Kumar Rana Men’s Greco-Roman 66kg class
Mausam Khatri Men’s freestlye 96kg class
Wushu Bimoljit Singh Men’s Sanshou 60kg